Our Monarch is going extinct | Andrew Venter

Our Monarch is going extinct | Andrew Venter.

This is a sad one for me. The Drakensberg is one of the most beautiful places on earth and my first choice for any getaway. The Bearded Vulture (Lammergeier) is as majestic as the land over which he soars.

Building wind turbines in Lesotho is commendable as far as curbing CO2 emission and helping our dire climate change scenario. However, I don’t for a moment believe that these turbines are for the direct benefit of the people of Lesotho. They are going to feed yet more power into that great parasite, Gauteng. I apologise to the people who live there. I have no gripe against them. However, Johannesburg and the other large urban conglomerations of Gauteng province have no natural reason to be there. They are only there because of the mines which are now nearly depleted. A huge infrastructure of  roads, pipelines and power cables, streams in from the rest of the country, and further afield to feed and fuel them. However this must be the subject of a future post as I digress from the fate of our Monarch of the skies. My personal feeling is that the further enrichment of an illegitimate industrial complex is not worth the genocide of another species.

About Rob Symons

My name is Rob Symons. I live in Pietermaritzburg, kwaZulu-Natal, South Africa. MuthiMuthi is my Zulu nickname which means tall tree. I am an Organic Farmer and an environmentalist. I live and work on Broadleaze Farm in the Mkondeni valley on the eastern outskirts of Pietermaritzburg.
This entry was posted in Energy, Environment, Nature and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

